Japan, Vietnam sign agreement on climate, trade – I have been keeping my eye on Vietnam for a few years now. I hope they do not disappoint me, they have to uphold the “Confucianist Reputation” in the way of economic development. Following in the footsteps of Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong, Macao, and China is difficult for any developing nation. If Vietnam can “come up” then the only outlier will be N.Korea.

Chinese warship visits Japan, first since World War II – More strange events in the schizo relations of Japan and China. What does this mean? I am not even sure, I just know things are not really bad, but that can change any day. 🙂

EDITORIAL: Gangland war – Most Americans will not understand this. In Japan any murders is reported on the national news, although Japan has over 120 million people (about 1/3 of the U.S. population). In America I do not even know who was killed outside the D.C. metro area and murder is so common most people ignore it. Even in Tokyo, I recall Japanese telling me that a neighborhood was dangerous if it simple theft was common or too many foreigners (from developing countries) were seen. Even the Yakuza do not commonly use guns, they do not need to, as loudly yelling threats and punching people seems to “scare the bejezusout of most people. I think if most Japanese really understood how much crime existed in America they would never come here, outside of Hawaii.

Why is the European press more pessimistic than the American press? – Prof Cowen doe not understand why the European Press is so pessimistic when it comes to America. Well, I think some of us outside the Ivory Tower might refer to this as a case of “hateration“, but what do I know?

